A Fork in the Road and the Art of Decision Making

ocean

Last week, I decided that I would create a little blogging challenge for myself …

First idea:
Write one blog post a day for 7 days in a row.
A very highly set goal for someone like me who likes to over-think, has perfectionistic tendencies, and doesn’t work well under pressure 🙂

Second idea:
Write 5 blog posts this week.
The last one being about the challenge itself …

It is day 5 of the challenge and I have published 3 articles, this one being the third …

Through this experiment I am realizing – just one more time out of millions it seems – that putting a time limit on things makes me “go crazy” … which has been a big problem for me in this day and age as time has become a limited resource in many places.

The article that I am sharing here is a draft that didn’t end up published (up until now). I am sharing the text even though I have that feeling of it not being well-rounded or “finished” and am posting it in the spirit of my one week blogging challenge 🙂


Decisions. Many of them. Every day. For each and every one of us.

Do you feel confident with the majority of the decisions you make?

Surely, the source of my personal – in phases emerging – deep insecurity in regards to decision-making lies in past experiences.
Perhaps the frequent occurrence of moving homes in my childhood and adolescence is one factor that has contributed to a general and familiar uneasiness when it comes to life changes and the decisions that they entail.

The “gift” of freedom of choice. Obviously, I am not the first to ponder this subject. How free are we really in our choices is a question that many have philosophised about. And thereafter, to which degree does our fate really lie in our own hands?

 

One Reply to “A Fork in the Road and the Art of Decision Making”

Leave a Reply

